Dance/movement therapy and blogging, and then there’s life.

It has happened.  I have fallen victim, just as many of my fellow dance/movement therapy bloggers have done in the past (are there any out there, anyway?)…..It’s been one month since my last blog post.  I am fairly certain this is a blog faux pas, only something those not serious about blogging would do.

When I started blogging last year for Marginalia, I did some initial research about dance/movement therapy and its prevalence within the blog world.  I wanted to know what people were talking about, blogging about in the field.  Needless to say, I didn’t find much, and the blogs I did find hadn’t been updated in months, years even.  I was sad that there seemed to be very few dance/movement therapy bloggers who were consistently blogging.

Although I could go on and on and belabor the point about how much of a hypocrite I am, I think there is something more important to speak to.  In the past month I have had a lot of personal things come up.  I moved and while moving I found out that much of the things I had been storing in a basement had to be thrown out due to water damage (another lesson learned, don’t store things in a basement).  Moving is a beast in of itself, but I am also working full-time and composing my Master’s thesis.  Who can think about blogging with all that happening?  More importantly who can ponder dance/movement concepts or attend thought-provoking events to blog about, especially when mourning the loss of your favorite Steve Madden boots?

Apparently, not me.

And I can only imagine this phenomenon is heightened when you are actually a licensed clinician, working full-time as a dance/movement therapist.  I now understand why in my initial dance/movement therapy blog search I found so little- these people are busy!

After now experiencing this phenomenon for myself I am left wondering how do I stay connected and continue blogging whilst being busy?  Because let’s be honest, life as an emerging dance/movement therapist will more than likely always be busy.  How do I continue on finding the motivation to blog about dance/movement therapy and my personal experience within the field?

I’m not sure that I really know the answer.  What I will say, however, is that maybe the trick is to write about what’s most salient for me at that moment?  Such as this piece, blogging about not blogging.  This allows me to stay in whatever is “now”.  That is, of course, what makes a good dance/movement therapist- an individual who can speak to the here and now, comment on what is happening in the therapy room and allow it to take its form in whatever form it needs to take.  In looking at it that way, blogging doesn’t have to be work and it doesn’t have to be forced.  Instead, it just highlights whatever is happening in the moment.  Which, of course, sounds a lot like one of the fundamental beliefs of dance/movement therapy as a paradigm.

About emilyadannunzio

Board Certified-Dance/Movement Therapist. Movement Analyst (GL-CMA). Researcher. Dancer. Bartender. Detroit, MI.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

