Reflecting on Dance.Movement.Therapy.

calender 2

It’s that time of year, everyone- the beginning of new year!  The beginning of the new year is the perfect time to reflect on 2014 and set goals for the year to come.  It’s no different here in the blogosphere.  I too have taken the time to reflect on 2014, mulling over what this year has been like for my blog, life as a blogger, and where Dance.Movement.Therapy. is heading.

I’ve never felt the need for transparency in my blogging process with the hopes that my words and blog posts were transparent enough.  I’ve been blogging for three years now (one year as a student blogger on Marginalia and two on my own), and I thought it might be nice to take a moment to reflect on my experience as a blogger.  The past year was a strong one in consideration to my blog.  One thing I realized in 2014 was that people do in fact read Dance.Movement.Therapy.  Yes, I’m sure on the grand scale of things I’m merely a spec in the world of dance/movement therapy (DMT), and yes I realize that this is merely a blog.  When my website stats grew exponentially after posting, “What it’s like to be a dance/movement therapy professional,” however, I knew I had people’s attention.  This was followed up by an even stronger audience when I posted, “8 characteristics of a dance/movement therapist,” and “Dance/movement therapy and the forbidden topic: money.”  I received personal e-mails, shares on the American Dance Therapy (ADTA) Facebook group page, a couple of features on The Healing Mover’s Weekly (if you don’t know what this is I suggest you look at it now), and readers started to follow my blog.

I had a few gutsy posts in 2014.  While I’d argue that it takes guts to post anything via a blog, I definitely stepped out on a limb when posting, “The 9 people you meet at the ADTA conference.”  I usually close my eyes and hold my breath when I hit the bright blue “Publish” button;  this was particularly true with that post.  Although I received a lot of great feedback on it, I couldn’t help but notice some side glances at the conference.  In hindsight, posting “The 9 people you meet at the ADTA conference” reminded me that not everyone who reads my blog knows me on a personal level, and thus does not realize that my honesty, albeit in the form of humor, comes from a good place.  For me, honesty is my expression of love.

I also had some personal posts in 2014.  I wrote to being “In a dance/movement therapy rut,” and, “The 11 things I learned in my first year as a dance/movement therapist.”  Such posts were my way of coping with what was happening in the present moment.  I drew from insight about what was happening for me as a DMT professional, even if it meant dealing with the ugly realities of doing this work full-time.

Maybe by now you’re rolling your eyes at all of this, because frankly, I’ve tooted my horn a few times.  But, what’s the point of all this and what is the point of my blog?  I’ve done a lot of thinking about what the point of Dance.Movement.Therapy. is and what my intentions are in writing it.  Some days I’m inspired to write and words fly off my fingers.  Other days, I feel like giving it up, arguing with myself that the real point of being a dance/movement therapist is doing the work day in and day out.  When I started, I was inspired to write a DMT specific blog to give web presence to a thing that was near and dear to my heart.  While that is still true, it’s become much more than that.   I have forced myself to be more honest with myself and my professional work through blog writing.  Writing Dance.Movement.Therapy (in addition to great supervision) has caused me to practice self-reflection and to formulate my experience as a dance/movement therapist into tangible, comprehensive words, a task that tends to be hard for embodied psychotherapists.  I have also, modestly, hoped to start a conversation within our DMT community.  I hoped to start talking about some topics that may or may not have been spoke of before.  I hoped to make a reader say, “Hm.”

So, where am I going?  I plan to keep writing.  Although I’ve got some topics in mind (professional self v. personal self, the pros and cons of DMT as an embodied psychotherapy, and research), my approach to writing my blog has always emphasized writing to what is pertinent to me in the present moment, in the here and now. I like to leave room for spontaneity and creativity in my blogging process, much like I do when leading a DMT group.

Cheers, everyone, to 2015.

About emilyadannunzio

Board Certified-Dance/Movement Therapist. Movement Analyst (GL-CMA). Researcher. Dancer. Bartender. Detroit, MI.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reflecting on Dance.Movement.Therapy.

  1. Carrie says:

    Nice wrap up. I’m not quite your target audience but I enjoy learning about your field. Look forward to reading more in 2015.

    • Thanks for reading, Carrie. No target audience here, but I do always hope that people outside of the DMT community read too. So, an even bigger thanks to you for reading and commenting. I enjoy reading your posts about Detroit. Maybe one day I’ll be writing about Detroit too.

Leave a Reply

