Guest Blogger: David Wankovsky shares his thoughts about dance/movement therapy.

david

David.

I first met David as a dance/movement therapy (DMT) intern four years ago.  He is a participant of the program I now work for as a full-time dance/movement therapist.  David enjoys participating in creative art therapies groups and is involved in the agency’s Literacy Program.  Like me, David is a self-motivated blogger.  With the help of his tutor and mentor, David writes in his blog about topics that are important to him.  One day it dawned on me to ask David to guest blog for Dance.Movement.Therapy.  I wanted to give him an opportunity to share about his experience in DMT groups, and to also give visibility to individuals with varying abilities.  David responded to two writing prompts:

  1. What does dance/movement therapy mean to you?
  2. What do you like about dancing?

Below are his words.

My name is David Wankovsky and I am a client where Emily works. I am also a writer in the Literacy department where I publish a blog (davidscornerisgood.blogspot.com) that informs people how to be more positive, careful and useful.

I have been in dance/movement therapy class. It puts your mind in a world of pure happiness and peace, while working your muscles in the company of friends—both old and new. I like the variety of exercises, especially using the beach balls and flags.

Dancing class is a great place to improve your body, mind and spirit. You should try it!

About emilyadannunzio

Board Certified-Dance/Movement Therapist. Movement Analyst (GL-CMA). Researcher. Dancer. Bartender. Detroit, MI.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guest Blogger: David Wankovsky shares his thoughts about dance/movement therapy.

  1. Jeannine says:

    I cannot express how much I love this–both your decision to ask him to guest blog and his poignant and succinct words.

Leave a Reply

