Twenty-two reasons why it’s awesome to be a dance/movement therapist.

Photo credit: Greg Inda

Photo credit: Greg Inda http://www.greginda.com

By now it’s no secret that I use Dance.Movement.Therapy. as a platform to tackle topics relating to all things dance/movement therapy (DMT).  Lately I feel as though I’ve dived into more difficult topics, like therapist transparency and the DMT culture.  Although I do find it important to continue to question, examine and discuss our work for the growth of the field in general, when it really comes down to it, I truly love being a dance/movement therapist and this crazy thing called DMT (despite what you might be starting to think…).  In no particular order, below are 22 reasons why it’s awesome to be a dance/movement therapist.

  1. I dance daily.
  2. I have the opportunity to collaborate with other creative arts therapists.  I specifically work with a music and an art therapist.
  3. I witness my clients express themselves through dance, movement and creativity.
  4. I help my clients meet their therapy goals in a creative way.
  5. I get to use my graduate degree.  As in, I have a job in my field.
  6. I have the privilege to do beautiful work (emphasis on privilege).
  7. I am not just a dancer or a therapist.  I am both.
  8. I provide a way for clients to express things that may be difficult to verbalize.
  9. I am usually surrounded by people who love to dance on a daily basis.
  10. I see the world through the lens of movement.
  11. I am apart of the DMT community.
  12. I give my clients permission to explore their authentic self in the DMT studio.
  13. I witness my clients connect with each through dancing, watching each other perform and collaborating artistically.
  14. I provide my clients choice by allowing them to explore a different way of moving, and thus a different way of being in the world.
  15. I know my own personal movement style because of my knowledge in DMT and Laban Movement Analysis (LMA), and that helps me be a more mindful person.
  16. I help nonverbal clients say something through the use of dance and movement.
  17. I have met amazing individuals (fellow dance/movement therapists or like-minded individuals) in my journey as a dance/movement therapist.
  18. I am deeply impacted by my clients’ wisdom on a daily basis.
  19. I am a walking, talking, breathing and moving advocate for the creative arts therapies.  My choice to become a dance/movement therapist has given visibility to DMT.
  20. I am an embodied person as a result of my continued DMT education and the work with my clients.
  21. I use my skills in dance, dance improvisation, choreography and LMA on a daily basis.
  22. My clients remind me daily of the beauty in the many different ways of being and dancing based on our array of abilities as individuals.

 

About emilyadannunzio

Board Certified-Dance/Movement Therapist. Movement Analyst (GL-CMA). Researcher. Dancer. Bartender. Detroit, MI.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Twenty-two reasons why it’s awesome to be a dance/movement therapist.

  1. Jeannine says:

    Love the photo you chose! 🙂 And thank you for succinctly reminding me of the beauty of our work. It’s easy to forget sometimes ;). Your words are a ray of sunshine☀️

  2. Pingback: Twenty-two reasons why it’s awesome to be a dance/movement therapist. | Moving Towards Understanding

  3. Donna-PA says:

    How would someone become a DMT? I love to dance. I have danced daily at times of my life as therapy (not knowing it) I have theme songs all the time & mainly car dance &chair dance more.

    • Hi Donna-PA,
      An individual becomes a registered-dance/movement therapist once he/she completes the necessary graduate work through one of the American Dance Therapy Association (ADTA) accredited programs, or through an alternate route program. Here is a link to information about different programs in the U.S. http://www.adta.org/ApprovedAcademicGraduateEducation There are international programs as well. A strong background in dance, psychology, human development, social work, and/or counseling (to name a few) is usually necessary for admission to such programs. I hope that information is helpful, and please feel free to e-mail me with further questions.

  4. Olivia says:

    This is great, I love it!

  5. Mary says:

    Emily, it is refreshing to see that you invested the time to write down the 22 reasons. What a wonderful world! Thank you for sharing this — -and the photo is brilliant!

  6. krisdanig says:

    I am so happy I found your blog! I have recently graduated from my masters in drama therapy and I can really relate to your 22 reasons list. I agree it is such a privilege to be working in such a special field! cheers!

Leave a Reply

