Beautiful words from psychologist Carl Rogers.

“I have found that the more that I can be genuine in the relationship, the more helpful it will be.  This means that I need to be aware of my own feelings, in so far as possible, rather than presenting an outward facade of one attitude, while actually holding another attitude at a deeper or unconscious level.  Being genuine also involves the willingness to be and to express, in my words and my behavoir, the various feelings and attitudes which exist in me.  It is only in this way that the relationship can have the reality, and reality seems deeply important as a first condition.  It is only by providing the genuine reality which is in me, that the other person can successfully seek for the reality in him.  I have found this to be true even when the attitudes I feel are not attitudes with which I am pleased, or attitudes which seem conducive to a good relationship.  It seems extremely important to be real.”

Rogers, C.R. (1961).  On becoming a person: A therapist’s view on psychotherapy. New York, NY: Houghton Mifflin Company.

 

About emilyadannunzio

Board Certified-Dance/Movement Therapist. Movement Analyst (GL-CMA). Researcher. Dancer. Bartender. Detroit, MI.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Beautiful words from psychologist Carl Rogers.

  1. Kathryne says:

    Reblogged this on Finding the Grace and commented:
    To be real. To be genuine. An ongoing journey for all of us. Thank you Emily for sharing this quote from Rogers with us.

  2. Jeannine says:

    thanks for sharing this pithy and compassionate wisdom 🙂

  3. I had to go through some old text messages to find the picture I snapped of this very page…

Leave a Reply

